Graduate School of Mathematics, Nagoya University
ADDRESS: Furocho, Chikusaku, Nagoya, Japan / POSTAL CODE: 464-8602

Research - List of Recipients

  • Welcome
  • Directions
  • Admission
  • Research
  • People
  • Journal
  • The Mathematics Library
  • Job Opportunity
  • Archives
  • Links

Update: 2023/03/28


List of Recipients

Prizes and Awards

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize (by MSJ)

2022 Kazumasa Fujiwara “Harmonic analytical research on nonlinear dispersive equations”
2018 Johannes Jaerisch “Research on ergodic theory and its intensive applications to various fields”
2008 Jun Kato

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers (by MSJ)

2004 Hidekazu Furusho “Study of p-adic multiple zeta values”
Ryo Takahashi “Homological studies on CohenMacaulay rings”
2003 Tomomi Kawamura

MSJ Algebra Prize

2020 Ryo Takahashi “Subcategories of module categories of commutative rings”
2014 Hidekazu Furusho “Studies on GrothendieckTeichmüller theory and multiple zeta values”
2012 Shigeyuki Kondo
2005 Kohji Matsumoto “Studies on analytic behaviour of zeta-functions”
1999 Kazuhiro Fujiwara “Study on arithmetic geometry”

MSJ Analysis Prize

2015 Mitsuru Sugimoto “Harmonic analysis for modulation and related spaces and smoothing estimates for partial differential equations of dispersive type”
2007 Toshiaki Hishida “New development of Fujita-Kato theory for Navier-Stokes equations”
2005 Nobuo Yoshida “Research on models in statistical physics by means of stochastic analysis”

MSJ Geometry Prize

2004 Shin Nayatani “Construction of invariant metrics in the ideal boundaries of real and complex hyperbolic spaces”
1994 Ryoichi Kobayashi “On the existence of KählerEinstein metrics on non-compact complex algebraic surfaces and its application to the uniformization problem”

IEEE Information Theory Society Paper Award

2011 Masahito Hayashi “Information spectrum approach to second-order coding rate in channel coding”

Inoue Research Award for Young Scientists (by Inoue Foundation for Science)

2006 Hidekazu Furusho p-adic multiple polylogarithms and the p-adic KZ equation”

Ryogo Kubo Memorial Prize (by Inoue Foundation for Science)

2011 Taro Nagao “Random matrix theory and its applications to physics”

Japan Academy Medal (by Japan Academy)

2016 Masahito Hayashi “Information theory and quantum information theory for finite-coding-length”

JSPS Prize (by JSPS)

2015 Masahito Hayashi “Information theory and quantum information theory for finite-coding-length”

Nishinomiya–Yukawa Memorial Awards (by Nishinomiya City)

2005 Tetsuya Shiromizu

ISSAC 2014 Distinguished Paper Award

2014 François Le Gall

Daiwa Adrian Prize (for UK–Japan teams) (by Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation)

2010 Tetsuya Shiromizu

Niels Bohr Professorship (by Danish National Research Foundation)

2012 Lars Hesselholt

Young Scientists’ Prize (The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology) (by MEXT)

2020 Johannes Jaerisch “Research on ergodic theory and its intensive applications to various fields”
2006 Tetsuya Shiromizu

Kirkman Medal (by The Institute of Combinatorics and Its Applications)

2008 Futaba Fujie-Okamoto

Challenging Research Award (by Tokyo Institute of Technology)

2004 Tetsuya Shiromizu


Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, Inaugural Class

2013 Lars Hesselholt

American Physical Society Fellow

2007 Yoshifumi Kimura

Clay Senior Scholar (by Clay Mathematical Institute)

2014 Lars Hesselholt

IEEE Fellow

2017 Masahito Hayashi for contributions to Shannon theory, information-theoretic security, and quantum information theory

IMS Fellow (by Institute of Mathematical Statistics)

2022 Masahito Hayashi for deep and influential contributions to quantum statistics and quantum information theory

Foreign Member (by Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters)

2012 Lars Hesselholt